?

Log in

nycroommates

Looking For a Room In Brooklyn

May. 20th, 2009 | 06:47 pm
posted by: acidtonguexo in nycroommates

I'm francesca. I'm a student that will be attending City Tech in August and need a room for rent.I'm currently residing in long island and refuse to commute 2 hours to get to school and back. I'm responsible friendly and outgoing.I'm looking for a room under 600. Looking to move anytime in july or august. Just a female student looking for a safe place to live.Thanks!

Here's a little about me:
i'm straight but am gay friendly
pet friendly ( as long as cat hair isn't everywhere so i can breathe)
drug free,Non smoker,
enjoys reading drawing and my photography
My music taste is eclectic
I'm usually watching Discovery Channel, The Office, or lame Reality shows that are my guilty pleasure.
I do have my nerdy tendencies, I love reading LOTR and cult classics!
I'm very fair when it comes to chores or cleaning so you'll never not see me doing my part!
I am always clean and keep my place clean as well
i'm respectful and want to be treated with respect as well,
I spend alot of time on my laptop, i love to cook, i am cheerful,outgoing, and fun.
I know how to keep my distance- so i'm not annoying!

please email :
frankie.gagliardi@yahoo.com


Link | Leave a comment | Share

nycroommates

Roomate and Apartment Search!

May. 17th, 2009 | 04:18 pm
posted by: little_padfoot in nycroommates

So my roommate and I are going to be moving out of our current 3 bedroom in East Harlem, hopefully by like July 1st. To help keep rent/utility bills down we want to find another roommate to help look/live with us. It has not been working out so much with the current 3rd person so we’re looking for someone new. We’re trying to look for places under $700 each a month (which is what we currently pay) and are scouting out places in Harlem and Inwood/Washington Heights.

More about us...Collapse )

Link | Leave a comment | Share

Looking for a room for rent in Washington Heights/Harlem/Marble Hill

Apr. 9th, 2009 | 02:31 pm
posted by: advisor21 in nycroommates

Hey guys and gals:

Maybe someone can help me out.  I have been desperately browsing Craigslist in order to find a suitable and reasonably priced room for rent either in Washington Heights/Harlem/Marble Hill areas, but, obviously I am having no luck.  If anyone knows of a room or even needs a laid-back, always working 29-year old female as a roommate, then please let me know.  Of course, I am on a budget (just like everyone else in NYC) of $500-600 per month including utilities. 

My interests are: watching old-time movies, love indie flicks as well, dancing (would love to learn salsa!), listening to world music, going on day trips out of the city, learning about the stock market, learning another language, and lastly, cooking.

I can be reached at dgnov179@yahoo.com.

Thanks for reading.


Link | Leave a comment | Share

nycroommates

May 22nd to August 17th Sublet

Mar. 27th, 2009 | 02:24 am
posted by: logique in nycroommates

Hey everyone. I posted a sublet on Craigslist and just wanted to cover all my bases.

Subletting my room for 2.5 months (May 22nd to August 17th) at 1144.50 a month. The apartment is in the East Village. More details here: http://newyork.craigslist.org/mnh/sub/1094112402.html

x-posted to nyc_real_estate

Link | Leave a comment | Share

Calling all Japanophiles

Mar. 19th, 2009 | 02:51 pm
posted by: tsuki_kanshisha in nycroommates


Hello! I'm Tamara [or Tammy...whichever you prefer] and I am desperately in search of a roommate. How bout I give you a little info?

Me: For starters I'm 20 and I'm a Nutrition major at a university in New Jersey. I'm a very liberal and very much in love with Japanese culture. I don't currently have any form of religious background. I guess you could say I'm free spirited and a borderline hippie. My sole motivation in life is to live as long and as happily as I can....[and to drink bubble tea! Lot's and lot's of mango bubble tea :D]

What am I looking for?

You should be...female, kind-hearted, honest, gay-friendly, responsible, reliable, willing to communicate, tidy, japanophile and quirky/goofy/nerdy...or a combination of the three. I would also prefer a fellow college student, but I [obviously] don't discriminate.

I'm looking for someone that is willing to share a STUDIO apartment [trying to keep the cost down!] that is about 20 minutes away from William Paterson University in Wayne, New Jersey and it would be decorated Japanese style which means we get to use futon ^^ I don't really know exactly how it would be decorated, but that's because it should be a team effort rather than an image in my head. I really want to find someone that wants to be friends not JUST roommates. Someone that would say "Hey!  Let's save as much money as we can and go on a road trip next month!" I would be all for it :D Someone that knows how to have RESPONSIBLE fun. Someone that realizes that life is too short for us to not make the best out of it.

Here's the best thing about my roommate search...I don't plan on doing this until next summer. That's right! Summer 2010 which gives us plenty of time to get to know each other and find a great place that we could really make our own.

So do you fit this rather unique description? I hope so cause everyone I know lives light years away TT_TT 
Message me if you're interested ^^

Link | Leave a comment {2} | Share

nycroommates

won't you be mine

Feb. 22nd, 2009 | 12:40 pm
posted by: beanarie in nycroommates

Hello! My name is Jeanne-Marie, I've been living in Forest Hills for abooout 18 months now and I'm looking to relocate within my neighborhood. Roomie issues, I know everyone can empathize. Well, I saw this lovely little number and my brain went all "GRABBYHANDS". So it's cheap, it's clean, there are hardwood floors, and it's in a fabulous location. Would anyone like to go in with me?
Here are a couple of personal details, so you know you'd be getting into.
  • age - Nearly 30
  • job - Case worker. I help the unemployed, so my position isn't in too much danger right now.
  • likes - Vegetarian food, the F train, ridiculously fannish things like Harry Potter, X-Men, and everything by Joss Whedon
  • plans for the apartment - Get some kind of pet. Probably not a dog because they're too high maintenance. Maybe a cat, though. Maybe. If that's a deal breaker, I can get something smaller and less with the allergens.
  • preferences - My room is my domain, which means that it's not even close to spotless. The common areas, though, they stay neat and clean.
  • Okay, I think that covers pretty much everything. Let me know if you're interested and we'll swap numbers!

    Link | Leave a comment {3} | Share

    nycroommates

    My room in Queens/Brooklyn is available March 1st

    Feb. 18th, 2009 | 05:21 pm
    music: wfmu
    posted by: walrusfriend in nycroommates

    So I'm moving in with my boyfriend and must find someone (one person) asap to take over my room by March 1st. Its located in Ridgewood, Queens which borders Brooklyn/Bushwick and is a pleasant and safe neighborhood.

    The rent is $625 which includes all utilities and also high-speed internet. The room is quite large, about 11 by 19 and has 3 tall windows that face a quiet street and is lockable. The kitchen and 2 bathrooms are shared with friendly and responsible roomates in their 20s/30s.

    Its located in a house in Ridgewood, Queens about a 5 min walk to the M train (fresh pond rd stop) or 15 min walk to the L train. 25 min to Manhattan. Its right by several grocery stores, a CVS and lots of restaurants and shops. The address is 6026 Palmetto St. If you're interested, please send me an email at nadi.gomez@gmail.com and I'll respond right away.

    Link | Leave a comment | Share

    nycroommates

    Other than craigslist...

    Feb. 17th, 2009 | 03:01 pm
    posted by: banger170 in nycroommates

    I am leaving my apartment on March 1 and trying to fill my room (http://newyork.craigslist.org/brk/roo/1038479602.html, if you're interested). Can anyone suggest a place to post an ad other than craigslist.org and sublets.com?

    Link | Leave a comment | Share

    nycroommates

    Room available in nice elevator building in Prospect Heights

    Feb. 3rd, 2009 | 11:21 am
    posted by: banger170 in nycroommates

    I am moving out of a great apartment in Prospect Heights and looking to fill my room beginning March 1.

    The room is on the small side, but has a huge closet and is very comfortable. It currently has a full size bed, a desk and a small dresser.

    The apartment is pretty new - fresh paint, nice appliances, air conditioning. There's a balcony with a great view of Manhattan. The building itself is great and has an elevator. The management company has an office across the street and is extremely helpful and always available. Your half of the utilities (cable, internet and ConEd) usually run about $90/month.

    There is easy access to the 2,3,4,5,B,Q,C trains by way of the Franklin Ave. Shuttle train, which is around the block. There are also several bus routes nearby. You can walk to the Brooklyn museum in under 10 minutes, Grand Army Plaza and Prospect Park in about 15, and Park Slope in 20-25.

    Your potential roommate is a graduate student at NYU and works full time at a museum in the city. He's a gay male and is really friendly and a lot of fun. I moved here from out of town, and he made me feel very comfortable and welcome.

    I'm sad to be leaving the apartment, but these things happen. Please send an email to jessmaso at gmail dot com with a little about yourself and we can set up a visit. Craigslist ad below:
    http://newyork.craigslist.org/brk/roo/1018976852.html

    I will have photos available by tonight and can send them by email.

    (x-posted to new_to_nyc and nyc_real_estate)

    Link | Leave a comment {1} | Share

    nycroommates

    roommates needed for bushwick loft

    Nov. 20th, 2008 | 01:11 am
    posted by: ohoctopi in nycroommates

    A friend and I just got a place in bushwick off the L stop- Jefferson. The subway is less than two blocks away. It's a two bedroom loft, with amazing features. We are closing off the top of the one bedroom for some one to sleep there, and building a two person loft bed/space in the other room. they just put in all new kitchen appliances that are super nice, and are making a wall of cabinets right above. here's the craigslist post:

    http://newyork.craigslist.org/brk/nfb/911909723.html


    There is access to the roof right in our hallway. We'll be on fourth floor, there is a large freight elevator, and it's pets friendly. I have a rabbit, and she is debating on bringing her cats (she lives in baltimore).

    Lease is December 1st
    and if we get two more roommates like we wish... rent will $487 a month per person.
    The other girl put down first month's rent already, but you and I will obviously have to give that to her asap.

    It's an amazing place, and you'll get the bonus of living with a chef (me!). haha.

    I'm rearing close to 19, and she is 20. Both quiet; she's a student, and I work a lot. We don't have crazy standards , but email me a little bit about yourself and any questions.

    Thanks,
    Jaimee

    sea-lions@hotmail.com


    x-posted on brooklyn_usa & newyorkers

    Link | Leave a comment {1} | Share